Polygon.io (Massive.com) vs Twelve Data

Twelve Data and Polygon.io, now Massive.com after its 2025-10-30 rebrand, both treat gold as one line item in a much larger catalog, and this page only looks at that one line, not their broader stocks, options, or forex coverage.

At a glance

FeaturePolygon.io (Massive.com)Twelve Data
Pricing
Free tierNone, no free calls8 credits/min, 800/day
Entry / only paid price$49/mo, unlimited streaming and requests$29/mo Grow (personal use, billed monthly), 55 credits/min
Top paid priceNot stated in their public docs (single tier)Higher tiers: see pricing page
Quota modelFlat, unlimitedCredits weighted by endpoint
Gold and precious-metals coverage
Gold / silver spotXAU/USD, XAG/USD forex pairsXAU/USD, XAG/USD via /commodities
Gold, silver, copper futures settlementYes, GC/SI/HG confirmed on futures planNot documented at commodities-endpoint level; confirm with support
LBMA AM/PM fixNot shippedNot stated in their public docs
Streaming and developer experience
WebSocket streamingYes, unlimited, includedYes, separate WS-credit pool (1,500/min Pro, 10,000/min Ultra)
Asset breadth beyond gold/silverStocks, options, forex, crypto, indices, futuresStocks, forex, crypto, indices, ETFs
MCP (Model Context Protocol)Not listed
Brand historyRebranded from Polygon.io on 2025-10-30; same API, keys, and SDKs under both domainsNot applicable, single continuous brand

Just the metals line item

Massive.com (formerly Polygon.io) and Twelve Data both cover gold and silver as a small slice of a stocks-first or multi-asset-first catalog. This comparison stays inside that slice, futures settlement, spot pricing, and streaming for metals specifically, and doesn't try to referee their much larger equities and options rivalry.

Pricing model

Twelve Data offers $79/month Grow at 377 credits/min ($66 billed yearly). Entry Grow is $29/month for personal use at 55 credits/min. Pro and Ultra cost more and raise the credit allowance; see its pricing page. Credits are weighted by endpoint.

Futures settlement, the real difference

Massive.com's own documentation confirms gold, silver, and copper futures (GC, SI, HG) on its futures plan, the clearest settlement-symbol claim in this whole set of comparisons. Twelve Data's /commodities endpoint lists XAU/USD and XAG/USD spot without a documented futures settlement symbol at that endpoint level. If your product resolves against a settlement price rather than spot, that gap matters more than anything in the pricing tables above.

Streaming

Both platforms ship WebSocket streaming for live prices. Massive.com bundles it into its single $49/mo tier at no extra metering; Twelve Data runs a separate WS-credit pool alongside its regular API credits, starting with a trial pool on Free and Grow and scaling to 10,000 WS credits/min on Ultra.

Frequently asked questions

Is Polygon.io the same as Massive.com?

Yes. Polygon.io rebranded to Massive.com on 2025-10-30. Both domains resolve to the same API, the same SDKs, and the same API keys. This comparison keeps the polygon-io URL slug because search volume for that name is still substantial, but every fact below reflects the current Massive.com product.

Which one has a free tier for gold price data?

Twelve Data Free has 8 credits/min and 800/day. Commodities are shown from Grow up, starting at $29/month for personal use with 55 credits/min.

Does either one cover gold futures settlement, not just spot?

Massive.com does, and confirms it directly: GC (gold), SI (silver), and HG (copper) futures are covered on its futures plan. Twelve Data's /commodities endpoint documentation lists XAU/USD and XAG/USD spot but doesn't call out a distinct futures settlement symbol at that endpoint level. If futures settlement specifically is the requirement, Massive.com's documentation is the clearer of the two.

Which one offers WebSocket streaming?

Both do, but the shape differs. Massive.com includes unlimited streaming in its single $49/mo plan. Twelve Data meters WebSocket separately from its regular API credits: a trial pool on Free and Grow, 1,500 WS credits/min on Pro, and 10,000 WS credits/min on Ultra.

How do their pricing models compare?

Massive.com uses one flat tier: $49/mo for unlimited streaming and API requests, no metering beyond that. Twelve Data Grow starts at $29/month for personal use, with 55 credits/min. Pro and Ultra cost more and raise the allowance; see its pricing page. Credits are weighted by endpoint.

Where does goldprice.dev fit against these two?

goldprice.dev doesn't cover stocks, options, or the wider asset classes both Massive.com and Twelve Data ship. What it does instead is go deeper on the metals it covers: gold, silver and copper spot on every plan, live prices and dealer quotes from Basic ($19/mo), plus a native MCP server on every plan.

Start with a free API key

5,000 requests a month on the free plan. No credit card.

Get a free key