GoldAPI.io vs MetalpriceAPI

If a shortlist for a metals-focused pricing API already has two names on it, they're probably GoldAPI.io and MetalpriceAPI: both frequently recommended in the same developer threads, far apart in entry price, and both light on the details that would let a developer tell them apart at a glance.

At a glance

FeatureGoldAPI.ioMetalpriceAPI
Pricing
Cheapest paid plan (MetalpriceAPI billed yearly)$99/mo$5/mo (Essential, billed yearly)
Number of paid tiers1 published tierSeven, $5–$132/mo, billed yearly
Production-tier plan$99/mo$74/mo (Business, billed yearly)
Overage policyAuto-billsNot stated in their public docs
Coverage
Currencies supported72150+
LBMA AM/PM fix redistribution rightsYesNot verifiable from public docs
Metals catalogGold + silver at parity, no copperGold, silver, platinum (per their FAQ)
Historical daily depth1968+Not stated in their public docs
Developer experience
Commercial use on paid plansNot statedNot stated in their public docs
WebSocket streamingNot stated in their public docsNo, stated explicitly
TypeScript / Python SDKCommunity-maintainedNot stated in their public docs

Pricing: apart at entry, further apart in structure

For GoldAPI.io, its plan listing shows Unlimited at $99/month and Sandbox at up to 100 requests/month.

The LBMA question

GoldAPI.io states outright that it holds LBMA AM/PM fix redistribution rights, a specific, checkable claim about its data lineage. MetalpriceAPI makes no equivalent public claim, and our own research treated that gap as unverifiable rather than assuming MetalpriceAPI lacks a comparable relationship. Anyone who needs LBMA provenance specifically should confirm directly with MetalpriceAPI rather than infer an answer from silence.

Coverage and history

MetalpriceAPI names platinum alongside gold and silver in its FAQ, one metal GoldAPI.io's page doesn't claim. GoldAPI.io counters with stated LBMA AM fix history since 1968, a figure MetalpriceAPI's page doesn't publish an equivalent for. Currency counts differ, 72 against 150+, a gap that need not matter on its own.

What neither one documents

GoldAPI.io's commercial-use terms are not stated in our sources. Check its terms before commercial use.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper at entry?

MetalpriceAPI is cheaper: seven paid steps from Essential $5/month to Business Plus $132/month, billed yearly. For GoldAPI.io, its plan listing shows Sandbox 100 requests/month and Unlimited $99/month.

Does MetalpriceAPI also hold LBMA fixing rights, the way GoldAPI.io claims to?

That's not established from its public pages. GoldAPI.io states it holds LBMA AM/PM fix redistribution rights. Our own research into MetalpriceAPI dropped an equivalent LBMA claim for that provider as unverifiable, so treat it as unconfirmed rather than a confirmed absence.

Which one bills further past a free plan?

GoldAPI.io has the higher paid entry: its plan listing shows Sandbox 100 requests/month and Unlimited $99/month. MetalpriceAPI Free has 100 requests/month; Essential is $5/month billed yearly.

Which has more currencies?

MetalpriceAPI: 150+ against GoldAPI.io's 72. The gap need not be a deciding factor by itself.

Do either publish commercial-use terms clearly?

GoldAPI.io's commercial-use terms are not stated in our sources. Check each provider's terms before commercial use.

Is either one shipping WebSocket streaming?

MetalpriceAPI states plainly that it isn't. GoldAPI.io's page doesn't address streaming either way, which is a gap in the public record rather than a confirmed no.

Start with a free API key

5,000 requests a month on the free plan. No credit card.

Get a free key