ComparisonReview

GoldAPI.io review (2026)

Pricing, limits, coverage, terms and developer experience, checked against GoldAPI.io's own public files on 2 November 2026.

3 Nov 2026 · 4 min read

GoldAPI.io is a gold, silver, platinum and palladium spot API with three plans: Free at 300 requests a month, Pro at $99 a month and Business at $169 a month. Paid plans have no monthly request cap, and only Business adds WebSocket streaming and the remote MCP server. It publishes an LBMA benchmark endpoint, 72 currency codes and an OpenAPI file, and its terms state that the data is not an authoritative source for settlement or audit.

  • Free allows 300 requests a month and hard-stops when they run out. Pro ($99) and Business ($169) remove the monthly cap but keep burst limits of 5 requests a second per key.
  • Business is the only plan with WebSocket streaming and the remote MCP server (12 tools).
  • Coverage is four metals, 72 currency codes and an LBMA endpoint with AM and PM fixes, with gold and silver in USD back to 1968.
  • There is no SLA, and the terms say the data should not be used for settlement, audit or regulatory reporting.

GoldAPI.io at a glance

ItemGoldAPI.io
Free plan300 requests a month, shared with WebSocket tokens
Paid plansPro $99 a month, Business $169 a month, unlimited REST
Update speedFree lists a 2-second interval; Pro and Business list real-time
MetalsGold, silver, platinum, palladium
Currencies72 codes, with pairs varying by metal
HistoryDaily, up to 90 days per request; LBMA fixes by date
StreamingWebSocket: 1 connection on Free, none on Pro, 5 on Business
MCP serverBusiness plan only, 12 tools
Authenticationx-access-token header

Plans and prices

PlanMonthly priceRequestsStreaming and MCP
Free$0, no card300 a month1 WebSocket connection, 10 channels
Pro$99Unlimited RESTNone
Business$169Unlimited REST5 WebSocket connections, 20 channels each; MCP server

Annual billing exists in the account screen, but annual prices are visible only behind a key, so they are not listed here. The pricing block offers a 30-day money-back guarantee, while the terms say fees already paid are generally non-refundable. The terms mention Enterprise services without a price.

Free is a hard stop: the request that brings usage to 300 is allowed and later requests are rejected until the monthly reset. Paid plans remove that cap and keep burst throttling of 5 requests a second per key and 10 per source IP. No page describes overage billing.

What it does well

No monthly metering on paid plans. Pro and Business have unlimited REST requests, so a busy site does not have to count calls against a quota.

Four metals and many currencies. Platinum and palladium sit next to gold and silver, in 72 currency codes. The pair list varies by metal, from 72 pairs for gold to 70 for platinum.

LBMA benchmark access. A dedicated endpoint returns USD-per-troy-ounce fixes: AM and PM for gold, platinum and palladium and a single daily price for silver. The documentation says gold and silver in USD are available from 1968, and other currencies from 1999.

A rich payload. One price response carries bid, ask, spread, session open, high, low and previous close, nine price units from troy ounce to baht, and melt price per gram for 12 karat grades. Each response also names its upstream exchange and symbol.

Agent and developer tooling. There is an OpenAPI 3.1 file, llms.txt, a Postman collection, about 20 integration guides and a status page that showed 100% over 45 days. The remote MCP server at mcp.goldapi.io offers 12 tools with OAuth or key authentication.

Where it falls short

A steep step from Free to Pro. There is no plan between 300 requests a month and $99 a month.

MCP and streaming sit on the top plan. Pro has no WebSocket access. The remote MCP server needs Business. An open-source local MCP package exists on npm, and its plan requirement is not stated.

Narrow history. Prices are spot only. The time-series endpoint covers up to 90 days per request in daily steps, and there is no OHLC bar series, no futures and no dealer prices. Open, high, low and previous close appear only as fields on a single price.

Source detail. The terms say data may come from third-party sources, exchanges and data providers and name none. In the public pair list, 231 of 283 tickers carry a GOLDAPI: prefix, which marks quotes the service derives itself, and others come from FX and exchange feeds. No page says the service holds a license to redistribute the LBMA data it serves.

Free quality is unclear. The pricing row says the Free plan updates on a 2-second interval, and the allowance is 300 calls a month. The terms add that they do not warrant that data will be current or real-time.

Terms to read

  • Settlement and audit. The data should not be treated as authoritative for trades, execution prices, settlement, accounting, audit, tax or regulatory reporting.
  • No SLA. The service is provided without an SLA, and Enterprise services do not create one.
  • Changes. Endpoints, data sources, plans and metals can change or be removed without notice.
  • Liability. Liability is capped at three months of fees. The governing law is Victoria, Australia.
  • Commercial use. You may display the data in your own application. Reselling the API, building a competing data product and using several keys to dodge limits are banned. No attribution is required.

Where goldprice.dev differs

goldprice.dev covers gold, silver and copper rather than four precious metals, has no LBMA endpoint and no WebSocket on Free or Basic, and quotes 31 currencies.

ItemGoldAPI.iogoldprice.dev
Free plan300 requests, hard stop5,000 requests, 15 minutes late
First paid plan$99, unlimited REST$19, 100,000 requests, live prices
MetalsGold, silver, platinum, palladiumGold, silver, copper
Daily history90 days per request1 year on Basic, from 1996 on Plus
BarsFields on a single priceOHLCV bar series
Dealer pricesNoBasic and above, by country
MCP serverBusiness, $169On every plan, Free included
Source detailExchange and symbol on each priceSource and timestamp on each price

Who should pick which

Pick GoldAPI.io for platinum and palladium, LBMA fixes by date, a large currency list, or unlimited REST calls above a single $99 step.

Pick goldprice.dev when you need an MCP server or free-plan access to one, a smaller step between plans, OHLCV bars, dealer prices by country, or a monthly quota you can plan around.

Sources checked

Checked on 2 Nov 2026 against the pages below. Plans and prices change; open the page to confirm today's figure.

Questions

How much does GoldAPI.io cost?

Free costs nothing and allows 300 requests a month. Pro is $99 a month and Business is $169 a month. Both paid plans have unlimited monthly REST requests. Annual prices could not be read without an account.

Does GoldAPI.io have an MCP server?

Yes, at mcp.goldapi.io, with 12 tools. It requires the Business plan at $169 a month. An open-source local MCP package on npm also exists, and its plan requirement is not stated.

Does GoldAPI.io offer LBMA prices?

It offers an LBMA benchmark endpoint with AM and PM fixes for gold, platinum and palladium and a daily silver price. The terms say its data should not be used for settlement, audit or regulatory reporting.

Can I try GoldAPI.io without signing up?

No. Every API endpoint needs a key sent in the `x-access-token` header. The website shows cached public prices for each metal without sign-in, and those are not the API.

Keep reading

Test goldprice.dev next to it

A free key and a keyless endpoint let you compare gold and silver spot with GoldAPI.io in an afternoon.

Get a free key